The start date of the Women's Ashes series has been brought forward. Image: cricket.com.au

The Women's Ashes schedule has been brought forward to allow teams to prepare for the ICC Women's World Cup in March

Australia will begin its defence of the Women’s Ashes in just 14 days after the schedule was re-jigged for the upcoming multi-format series against England.

The changes announced by Cricket Australia today will allow both the Australian and England teams sufficient time to travel to New Zealand and complete a 10-day mandatory quarantine period ahead of the ICC Women’s World Cup, beginning on March 4.  

The Women’s Test starting in Canberra on January 27th was originally going to kick off the multi-format series. Instead, the T20 leg of the series will start the series off with those games to be played at Adelaide Oval.

The Test match will keep its original dates and location in Canberra and the One Dayers will follow in both Canberra and Melbourne in early February.

No matches in Sydney will be played due to logistical reasons.

Cricket Australia CEO spoke on the need to change the schedule in the name of fairness and health and safety for all parties involved.

“We have needed to make changes to the schedule and we’re grateful to all parties for their flexibility in ensuring that both Australia and England can travel to New Zealand with sufficient time to complete their mandatory quarantine period ahead of what will be an exciting World Cup for both teams,” Hockley said.

“We are looking forward to a fantastic series between probably the two best teams in the world, with each side being current T20 and ODI world champions respectively”

More Cricket News:

Analysis: Is the grass greener at number seven?

Ashes: Wood optimistic after positive start for England

Ashes: Dave not Warne-out by Broad battle yet

“Regrettably, logistical considerations have meant that we have had to move two T20 games from North Sydney Oval”

Cricket Australia however did confirm that the schedule for the Australia v England ‘A’ series which will feature three T20s and three 50-over fixtures running concurrently with the Ashes. 

The multi-format Women’s Ashes series will now begin a week earlier than originally planned on Thursday 20 January. The series will start with three T20 Internationals at Adelaide Oval, followed by the Test match at Manuka Oval in Canberra, which remains on January 27-30. Manuka Oval will also host the first One-Day International, a day-night clash on February 3, while the following two matches will be played at Melbourne’s Junction Oval on February 6 and 8. 

The annual Governor-General’s XI match will not proceed as planned, with the tour match expected to return next season.

“It is also disappointing that the annual Governor-General’s XI match scheduled to be played at Drummoyne Oval is unable to proceed this season. We thank cricket fans in Sydney for their understanding and have no doubt that the three T20Is at Adelaide Oval will set the tone for a great series,” said Hockley.

Both England and Australia will announce a squad for the corresponding series between Australia A and England A in due course. 


January 20: 1st T20I, 6:40 pm, Adelaide Oval

January 22: 2nd T20I, 1:40 pm, Adelaide Oval

January 23: 3rd T20I, 1:40 pm, Adelaide Oval

January 27 – January 30: Test Match, 10 am, Manuka Oval

February 3: 1st ODI, 2:10pm, Manuka Oval

February 6: 2nd ODI, 10:05 am, Junction Oval

February 8: 3rd ODI, 10:05 am, Junction Oval

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply