David Warner has been backed in for the first test against Pakistan (Photo: cricket.com.au / X)

David Warner’s farewell tour has been provided with an added layer of reassurance, named in the Test squad for the opening match of the summer against Pakistan in Perth. He joins Khawaja as the only openers named in the side.

Thirteen members of the squad who won the World Test Championship have been selected for their 2023-25 World Test Championship opener, with Nathan Lyon and Lance Morris returning from injury. The pair missed extended portions of the England summer.

Chair of Selectors, George Bailey, said the success the Australian team has brought over the course of the year has helped most of the squad hold onto their spot.

“This group, led by Pat Cummins, has built a strong resume over an extended period. We believe they have earnt the opportunity to start in our first home Test match at the beginning of the new World Test Championship cycle,” he said.

More Cricket News:

“Thirteen members of the squad were part of the victorious World Test Championship and successful Ashes tours over the winter and Lance Morris has been recalled after recovering from his back injury over the same period.”

Bailey believes this week’s Prime Minister’s XI game will provide great opportunity for players to knock on the door of selection.

Australian 14-player squad:

Pat Cummins (NSW/Penrith Cricket Club) (c)

Scott Boland (VIC/Frankston Peninsula Cricket Club)

Alex Carey (SA/Glenelg Cricket Club)

Cameron Green (WA/Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club)

Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club)

Travis Head (SA/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club)

Usman Khawaja (QLD/Valley District Cricket Club)

Marnus Labuschagne (QLD/Redlands Cricket Club)

Nathan Lyon (NSW/Northern District Cricket Club)

Mitchell Marsh (WA/Fremantle Cricket Club)

Lance Morris (WA/Scarborough Cricket Club)

Steve Smith (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club)

Mitchell Starc (NSW/Manly Warringah Cricket Club)

David Warner (NSW/Randwick Petersham Cricket Club)

The first Test begins on 14 December at Optus Stadium.

About Author