Tom Mitchell won his third Peter Crimmins Medal on Thursday night. Image: @AFL. Twitter

Hawthorn midfielder Tom Mitchell has taken out the 2021 Peter Crimmins Medal, claiming his third best and fairest award

Hawthorn midfielder Tom Mitchell has claimed his third Peter Crimmins Medal, becoming the ninth Hawks player to claim the award three times.

He now sits alongside club champions and 2008 premiership players Sam Mitchell and Shane Crawford as one of three players to win three best and fairest awards and a Brownlow Medal in the AFL era.

Heading into the night he was the front runner to take out the award, Mitchell polled 161 votes, polling in all 22 games he played this season in what was an impressive 2021 season.

This season Mitchell was the leading ball winner of the competition, averaging 34 disposals a game. He’d also make history as he became the only player in AFL history to record 750 disposals or more in three seasons.

Behind Mitchell in second place was defender Blake Hardwick who finished with 126 votes. Jaeger O’Meara (121), Dylan Moore (101), and Chad Wingard (100) rounded out the top five Hawks players for the season.

More AFL News

Nic Naitanui soars to go back-to-back and win Eagles’ top honour

Betts wearing black and white: Is Eddie out of retirement?

Jack Macrae’s top five 30-plus disposal games in 2021 (so far)

Hardwick was amongst the top three vote-getters for the duration of the night, eventually finishing in second with his second-highest career votes.

Midfielder Jaeger O’Meara finished inside the Hawks top three for the second time in his career and finished with his highest number of votes, while Dylan Moore finished in fourth with the mid-forward rewarded for a solid season.

Finishing 5th, midfielder Chad Wingard would also poll his highest amount of votes as a Hawks player.

Developing key forward Jacob Koschitzke took out the best first-year player after finishing the season as the Hawks second equal leading goal scorer with 27 goals, while Hawks captain and ruckman Ben McEvoy won the best clubman award.

Defender Sam Frost was recognized as the Hawks most consistent player, having built off a promising 2020 season last year.

Changkuoth Jiath would round out the individual awards, taking out the Hawks most promising player with the defender being rewarded for his breakout season.

Peter Crimmins Medal Top 10

  1. Tom Mitchell (161 votes)
  2. Blake Hardwick (126)
  3. Jaeger O’Meara (121)
  4. Dylan Moore (101)
  5. Chad Wingard (100)
  6. Sam Frost (95)
  7. Daniel Howe (83)
  8. Changkuoth Jiath (79)
  9. James Worpel & Liam Shiels(74)
  10. Luke Breust (73)

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply