Australia has won Mens coxless four rowing Gold, becoming the first to win gold in this event since the Oarsome Foursome in 1996.

A new oarsome foursome was christened on this day, and the baton has now been passed to the new generation of champions. Picture: Rowing Australia - Twitter

A new Australian Oarsome Foursome of Alexander Purnell, Spencer Turrin, Jack Hargreaves, and Alexander Hill has taken gold in the Men's Coxless Four Rowing.

The Oarsome Foursome is back. 25 years after the original foursome achieved back to back Men’s Coxless Four Rowing gold in Barcelona and Atlanta, a new Australian Oarsome Foursome has arrived. For all your Tokyo 2020 coverage, stay tuned to The Inner Sanctum’s Olympic hub and the Olympics Central.

The team of Alexander Purnell, Spencer Turrin, Jack Hargreaves, and Alexander Hill has taken gold for the Men’s Coxless Four in the Rowing- an event dominated by Great Britain for the last five Olympics.

Great Britain’s loss means it’s the first time they have not taken gold in this event since Sydney 2000.

Australia took the gold medal in an Olympic record time of 5:42.76, and in the process, they broke their own Olympic best time of 5:47.06 set at London 2012 in qualifying. They crossed the line at Sea Forest Waterway in Tokyo ahead of Romania in silver and Italy in bronze.


More Tokyo 2020 News

Tokyo 2020: Sea Forest Waterway sees Golden Girls claim glory

Tokyo 2020: Live Blog – Wednesday July 28

Titmus Doubles up on a golden morning for Australia

The Heat

Australia qualified fastest in its heat, finishing with a time of 5:54.27.


The Race

Australia led the race from start to finish, but the Romanian team did not let them have it their own way and kept a close check on them throughout, eventually finishing second by 0.37 seconds.

Five-time defending Champions Great Britain finished fourth, but were always in contention for a medal, clawing back a boat length lead held by the Australians at the 1000-metre mark to under a second by the 500-metre mark, keeping in touch with the leaders until a frantic finish that saw the Great British team steer into the lane of medal contenders Italy.

Although Great Britain’s oars and the boat did not appear to touch the Italian team, they had cost themselves a medal. The Italian team took the bronze in a dramatic finish.

The Rowers

Alexander Purnell

The bow seat member, Purnell’s older brother Nicholas Purnell is also an Olympian, and the brother duo is the first to represent Australia in the same Olympics since the Stewart brothers. Alexander Purnell is a former World Championship silver medalist, having finished second in the 2018 World Championships in Quadruple Sculls. He is also a three-time Kings Cup Winner, representing New South Wales in their 2017-19 victories, the latter two with older brother Nicholas.

Spencer Turrin

The two-seat member, Turrin was one of the two members of the four to have prior Olympic experience, Turrin had previously represented Australia in the Men’s Coxless Pair at Rio 2016, where the duo of him and Alex Lloyd placed fifth. Turrin had won medals in this event in five consecutive World Championships from 2013-18, including gold in 2017 and 2018.

Jack Hargreaves

The three-seat member, Hargreaves has represented New South Wales in seven consecutive Kings Cups from 2014-21, crewing them to victory in 2014 and 2017-19. Alongside Turrin and Alexander Hill, he also won back to back World Championships in 2017 and 2018.

Alexander Hill

The stroker and the second team member to have prior Olympic experience, Hill previously competed in Rio in 2016 in this event, finishing second behind Great Britain. Like Hargreaves and Turrin, Hill is a two time World Champion, having won alongside them and Joshua Hicks in 2017 and 2018.


Oarsome Foursome pass the baton to the next generation

With victory here, a new generation of rowing glory has been declared.

The original Oarsome Foursome of Nicholas Green, Drew Ginn, James Tomkins and Mike McKay became heroes of the nation and received the nickname ‘Oarsome Foursome’ when they won in Barcelona 1992 and Atlanta 1996.

Now, Purnell, Turrin, Hargreaves and Hill can do what their heroes did all those years ago- inspire the generation to come.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply