Jason Sangha made his first appearance in a BBL Team of the Tournament. (Photo: Sydney Thunder)

First-timers and surprise packages headlined the BBL|11 Team of the Tournament, announced on Monday morning.

The Big Bash League has proven that it is still growing cricket both in Australia and overseas, with eye-catching debutants named in the BBL|11 Team of the Tournament.

With the conclusion of the BBL|11 regular season, the Team of the Tournament was announced on Monday morning. The talk has been all about the players that have made the Team of the Tournament for the first time.

Leading the debutants is handy Sydney Thunder all-rounder, Jason Sangha. The 22-year-old has always had big potential, but he lived up to the hype this tournament.

His Man of the Match performance of 91 runs for 55 balls not out to drag his team across the line against the Adelaide Strikers was a career high for him. His average of 48 with the bat and strike rate of 130.61 made him an asset for his side.

More BBL News

Strikers make it sensational six in search for BBL|11 title

Who is the Perth Scorchers’ ideal BBL Final match-up?

Maxwell takes aim and makes BBL history

Medium-quick bowler Hayden Kerr has been a breakout star for the Sydney Sixers in BBL|11. Kerr has taken 24 wickets at just over 13 runs per wicket, which is the best bowling average for any player in the competition with 15 or more wickets to their name.

Sydney Sixers fast bowler Hayden Kerr. (Picture: Sydney Sixers/Twitter)

Adelaide Strikers all-rounder Matt Short made the team at five, coinciding with his invaluable contribution to his team’s run through the finals thus far.

He has scored 400 runs in BBL|11, including 89 runs off 48 balls to deliver his team a win in the Eliminator Final against the Hobart Hurricanes. He further dismissed Ben McDermott, the Hobart Hurricanes and BBL|11 leading run scorer.

Adelaide Strikers all-rounder Matt Short. (Picture: Adelaide Strikers/Twitter)

McDermott opens the batting for the Team of the Tournament alongside Sydney Sixers wicket-keeper Josh Philippe. McDermott made 577 runs across BBL|11 with a tournament high of 127 off 65 balls against the Renegades, which was also his second century in a row.

Philippe made 429 runs across the tournament with a high of 99*, while taking 12 catches and making five stumpings.

Josh Philippe in action. (Photo: Phil Hillyard)

Australian star all-rounder Mitchell Marsh also made the team. Despite only playing seven matches, his form was undeniable. Australian talent littered the team including Sixers star Moises Henriques, and Thunder bowler and power-hitter Daniel Sams.

Mitch Marsh after making his unbeaten century. (Picture: Cricket Australia)

Rounding out the Aussies was Adelaide Strikers captain Peter Siddle and Perth Scorchers fast bowler Andrew Tye.

Full BBL|11 Team of the Tournament:

1) Ben McDermott – 8 votes (Hurricanes): 577 runs | HS 127

2) Josh Philippe (wk) – 8 votes (Sixers): 429 runs | HS 99no

3) Joe Clarke – 5 votes (Stars): 419 runs | HS 85

4) Mitch Marsh – 7 votes (Scorchers): 342 runs | HS 100no | Wickets 5 | Econ. 8.46 | BB 2-50

5) Matt Short – 6 votes (Strikers): 487 runs | HS 89 | Wickets 8 | Econ. 6.99 | BB 2-13

6) Moises Henriques – 6 votes (Sixers): 420 runs | HS 76no

7) Daniel Sams – 8 votes (Thunder): Wickets 19 | Econ. 8.49 | BB 4-33 | 191 runs | HS 98no

8) Rashid Khan – 7 votes (Strikers): Wickets 20 | Econ. 6.34 | BB 6-17

9) Hayden Kerr – 6 votes (Sixers): Wickets 24 | Econ. 7.34 | BB 4-32

10) Andrew Tye – 5 votes (Scorchers): Wickets 22 | Econ. 8.26 | BB 3-17

11) Peter Siddle (c) – 8 votes (Strikers): Wickets 29 | Econ. 8.42 | BB 5-23

X-factor players

12) Sean Abbott – 4 votes (Sixers): Wickets 16 | Econ. 8.48 | BB 4-31 | 75 runs | HS 37no

13) Jason Sangha – 3 votes (Thunder) 445 runs | HS 91no | Wickets 4 | Econ. 8.22 | BB 2-16 

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply