Sharon Jarvis Equestrian Team

Sharon Jarvis is the first Australian to be selected for the Australian Paralympic Team in Equestrian. Photo: Western Australian Institute of Sport

The Australian para-equestrian team is filled out by four athletes including Sharon Jarvis who will attend her third Paralymics.

The Australian Paralympic team will be sending a four-member para-equestrian team to Tokyo, with Sharon Jarvis selected for a record third Paralympics for the Australian para-equestrian team.

First competing in the sport in 1996, Australia has a proud history in the para-equestrian events, boasting nine medals total including three gold.

Jarvis rode at the Beijing 2008 and Rio 2016 Paralympics. In 2008 she finished fourth in the Championship grade III, seventh in the Freestyle grade III and sixth in the Team Open alongside Grace Bowman, Nicole Kullen and Georgia Bruce.

At Rio, Jarvis finished ninth in the Individual Championship Test Grade III and 15th in the Individual Team Test Grade III and was in the Australian team that finished ninth in the Team Competition with Emma Booth, Lisa Martin and Katie-Maree Umback.

Booth will return for her second Paralympics, in Rio she finished in fifth in the Individual Championship Test Grade II and 13th in the Individual Team Test Grade II and alongside Jarvis was in the Australian team that finished ninth in the Team Competition

Amelia White and Victoria Davies will be competing at their first Olympic games, Davies was in contention for the Rio 2016 team, but was forced to withdraw from qualifying due to illness.

Paralympics Australia Chief Executive Lynne Anderson advised the four Paralympians to savour the well deserved moment that they’ve earned.

“The past 18 months has brought out the very best in our Australian Para-athletes, including our four world-class Para-equestrian representatives, who’ve remained steadfast in their pursuit of a place on the Team for Tokyo,” Anderson said.

“This is a moment they’ve worked extremely hard to earn and deserve to savour. Congratulations to Sharon, Emma, Vic and Amelia and congratulations also to everyone at Equestrian Australia who’s given their all to ensure we’ll field a strong and well-prepared Team in Tokyo.”

More Tokyo 2020 News

Australian Para-cyclists named to ride for gold at Tokyo 2020

‘What does it mean to everyone else?’ Flying the flag for Australians at Tokyo 2020

Australia announces 11-member para-table tennis team with 50 days to go

Darren Gocher, Chief Executive of Equestrian Australia congratulated the team and commended their work over the past 18 months to keep chasing their dreams.

“Congratulations to all combinations selected to represent Australia at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games next month,” Gocher said.

“Our para-equestrian athletes are no strangers to overcoming adversity and throughout the global pandemic, they have not lost sight of their Paralympic dreams.

“The history-making efforts by Sharon Jarvis, who with her Tokyo selection becomes the first Australian equestrian Paralympian to compete at three Games, is testament to Sharon’s commitment to Paralympic success.

“Tokyo 2020 also marks the second Paralympic Games for combination Emma Booth and Mogelvangs Zidane, which is again an Australian first.

“Para-equestrian is truly a team sport and Equestrian Australia would like to acknowledge the horse owners and grooms, whose teamwork allows our athletes to realise their goals. We wish all our para-equestrian athletes a safe and successful Games and we look forward to watching them shine in the Tokyo dressage arena.”

Chef de Mission Kate McLoughlin put stock in the team’s ability to make Australians proud when the Paralympics kick-off at the end of August.

“Para-equestrian is an incredibly competitive sport that requires intense discipline, training and collaboration,” McLoughlin said.

“The four athletes we’ve announced today have shown they have the essential attributes to succeed at the highest level and I have the utmost confidence they’ll make us proud when they compete at Equestrian Park throughout the first week of the Games in Tokyo.”

Australian Para-equestrian Team

Sharon JarvisRomanos3rd (2008, 2016)
Emma BoothMogelvangs Zidane2nd (2016)
Victoria DaviesCelereDebut
Amelia WhiteGeniusDebut

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply