Katie Mack

Adelaide Strikers batter Katie Mack (Image: Adelaide Strikers/Twitter)

Unsurprisingly, the Perch Scorchers dominated the WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament, which was released ahead of the finals this week.

The team, that was selected by all eight WBBL coaches, included the top five run scorers and top three wicket takers.

Adelaide Strikers

Finishing on top of the table at the end of the regular season, the Adelaide Strikers have had a fantastic tournament and one that will see the champs able to defend their title from last year.

For the first time, opening batter Katie Mack was named in the team after continuing to be a consistent performer this season. She has made 250 runs in each of the last four seasons which included 449 this year.

Her strike rate of 119.73 is her highest of her nine seasons in the WBBL.

She was joined by spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington who notches up her third consecutive selection. She has taken 20 wickets this season which continues her streak of three years of 20 wickets or more in a WBBL season.

Wellington’s bowling average of 12.6 is her career-best in her nine seasons in the competition.

Brisbane Heat

Not selected in the main side, Charli Knott was selected in the Team of the Tournament as the 12th.

This season she has continued to flourish at the highest level reaching her 50 game milestone while continuing to become a genuine all-rounder.

The 20-year-old won a match early in the season off her own bat against the Stars finishing with bowling figures of 2-13 and 31 off just 14 balls with bat in hand.

Her strike rate of 147.65 was the third-best in the WBBL this season.

Melbourne Stars

Golden Arm (leading wicket-taker) winner Melbourne Stars bowler Sophie Day has been named in the side after what is her career-best season, headlined by her 27 wickets taken this season.

This doubles her WBBL career wickets tally which is now at 53 wickets.

She is joined by Annabel Sutherland, who has taken the reins in Meg Lanning’s absence over the last few games. She contributed this season strongly with 288 runs and 23 wickets.

More Cricket News

Locksmith: Smith to don magenta for BBL|13

Heroic Head: Inside one of the greatest World Cup innings

Rashid Khan withdraws from BBL|13

Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers captain Sophie Devine has been named the captain with her opening batting partner Beth Mooney joining her in the team.

Devine has scored 476 runs with a strike rate of 140.82 with a ton included. She also took 14 wickets this season at an economy of 8.52.

Mooney won the Golden Bat this tournament for sitting atop the highest runs tally while also continuing to extend her lead that she has on the competition’s all-time runs list.

She hit 400 runs for the ninth consecutive time which really highlights her dominance and consistency in the game.

Off-spinner Amy Edgar has enjoyed a breakout season with the Scorchers which signals her first selection in the Team of the Tournament.

She had only featured 15 times for Perth prior to this season with four wickets from these matches, however she has now added 20 wickets in just 14 games. She also conceded only 6.5 runs an over.

18-year-old bowler Chloe Ainsworth has signalled the arrival of the new wave of pace bowlers. From her 12 matches, she has opened her WBBL wicket tally at 15 with an economy of 7.29.

It was also her opening and death bowling that was crucial with skipper Devine able to turn to her new recruit for a break-through.

Sydney Sixers

One of the feel-good stories of this season has been the return to form of Lauren Cheatle, who not only was at her best in the WBBL but also earned a recall to the Australian squad for the tour to India.

In her 14 matches Cheatle took 21 wickets with an economy of 6.89, her best performance was 2-13 taken against the Melbourne Stars.

She joins her skipper Ellyse Perry, who was captaining in the absence of mainstay keeper Alyssa Healy.

Perry was a force this WBBL season with bat in hand scoring 496 runs from her 13 matches with a strike rate of 131.56, but it was her bowling that earned her the call up (13 wickets).

She contributed three 50s during the tournament with a highest score of 82 not out.

Sydney Thunder

Chamari Athapaththu was the sole representative for the Sydney Thunder, a key figure considering her late inclusion in the squad after missing out in the WBBL Draft and the WPL Auction.

She was a consistent contributor for the rising team, only failing to reach double figures once. She netted 511 runs (including five 50s) with a strike rate of 129.69 with a high score of 80.

After announcing the side, Cricket Australia General Manager Alistair Dobson spoke about the strength of the competition as highlighted by this team.

“Congratulations to all 12 players selected in the Weber WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament,” Dobson said.
Β Β 
β€œThe side boasts powerful batting and skillful bowling and would be competitive against any opponents worldwide. With so many domestic players being named in the side, the team reflects the depth of Australian cricket and the strength of the WBBL competition.
Β Β 
β€œMany of the players selected are contenders in the Finals series this week, ensuring we are in for some brilliant cricket and tough competition to conclude the best WBBL season to date.”

About Author