Kate Shierlaw one of 25 Saints to re-sign Photo (St Kilda/ Twitter)

The Saints have announced the re-signing of 25 of the clubs AFLW players for the upcoming 2021/22 AFLW season.

The Saints have re-signed twenty-five players for the 2021/22 AFLW season after the club announced that several of the club’s stars have put pen to paper.

The group is headlined by a core of young players in Alice Burke  Tyanna Smith, Olivia Vesely,  Nicola Xenos, and Tarni White all extending their stay at Moorabbin at least until the end of the 2022/23 season.

Tilly Lucas-Rodd, Jayde Van Dyk, Jacqui Vogt, and Hannah Priest have also committed to the Saints for another two years while Nat Exon, Tahlia Meyer, Bec Ott, Jess Matin, Darcy Guttridge, Rhi Watt, Cat Phillips, and Kate Shierlaw have signed on for another year.

More AFL News

AFL confirms fixture changes, Queensland and Western Australian clubs head to Victoria

Exceeding expectations: Sydney bringing its best against the best

No captain? No problem: Third time’s the charm for Geelong

Head of Women’s Football Jamie Cox said it was significant to see such a strong level of dedication from the playing group.

“It’s amazing to have 25 players commit for this upcoming season and it’s a reflection of how invested everyone is across the board,” Cox said.

“Our young core signing on has solidified our foundations for both the present and future, as has the commitment of last season’s four co-captains for the season ahead.”

Irish defender Clara Fitzpatrick has been delisted by the Saints after spending the 2021 season on the club’s inactive list because of VISA issues that have prevented her from coming over to Australia.

The key defender, unfortunately, tore her ACL while playing Gaelic football back in Ireland earlier this month. Although before her recent setback had her application approved for permanent residency over here in Australia which would have paved the way for her to return to the Saints for the upcoming season.

The Saints have said that they will asses re-drafting Fitzpatrick prior to the 2022/23 AFLW season.

“Clara has had a terrible run of luck this past year, but she’s fully focused on doing everything possible on making a return for the following season,” Cox said.

“We will support Clara as best as we can from afar while she continues her rehabilitation, but she certainly will be missed on-field and at RSEA Park.”

2021/22 St Kilda AFLW re-signings

  • Molly McDonald
  • Alice Burke
  • Darcy Guttridge
  • Tyanna Smith
  • Rhi Watt
  • Bianca Jakobsson
  • Kate McCarthy
  • Jacqui Vogt
  • Isabella Shannon
  • Kate Shierlaw
  • Renee Saulitis
  • Hannah Priest
  • Nat Exon
  • Caitlin Greiser
  • Tilly Lucas-Rodd
  • Jess Matin
  • Rebecca Ott
  • Georgia Patrikios
  • Olivia Vesely
  • Rosie Dillon
  • Nicola Xenos
  • Tarni White
  • Tahlia Meyer
  • Cat Phillips
  • Jayde Van Dyk

St Kilda currently have picks 4, 12 and 36 in the upcoming AFLW draft which is set to take place on the 27th of July

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply