50 players across the WBBL and BBL competitions have been selected as platinum players (Photo: Lucy Williams/Australian Cricket)

Fifty of cricket’s best T20 players have been awarded platinum status for Sunday’s WBBL and BBL overseas drafts. 

After its success last year, the platinum pool has increased to 25 for BBL|13, while the inaugural WBBL overseas draft will also feature 25 premium players. 

Big Bash Leagues General Manager Alistair Dobson said that the plethora of platinum players available for selection is a testament to the quality of the international players. 

“The sheer volume and calibre of nominations in both drafts speaks to the appeal of the Big Bash for players across the globe and reinforces the competition’s reputation for showcasing top-tier talent and providing unparalleled entertainment for our fans,” he said. 

Fresh off a stellar Ashes campaign, English batter Harry Brook headlines the international stars considered in the top echelon for the upcoming BBL tournament. He is one of 14 Englishmen added to the list which includes two-time Melbourne Stars player of the tournament Joe Clarke, and 2020/21 top scorer Alex Hales

South African duo Quinton de Kock and Faf du Plessis have also been named as platinum stars as too West Indian Nicholas Pooran.

More Cricket News:

As for the women’s sector, the Perth Scorchers will most likely have to make the difficult decision of choosing to retain either Kiwi Sophie Devine or South African Marizanne Kapp. With both players part of the platinum group for Sunday’s draft, the Scorchers face the proposition of losing one of their previous imports. 

Platinum players for BBL|13 will earn $420,000 over the course of the tournament, while the top-tier international players for WBBL|09 will be paid $110,000 for the season. 

WBBL|09 Platinum List:

England: Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Katie Cross, Sarah Glenn, Heather Knight, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt

India: Richa Ghosh, Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemima Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar

New Zealand: Sophie Devine, Amelia Kerr

Pakistan: Nida Dar

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu

South Africa: Tazmin Brits, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt

West Indies: Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews, Stefanie Taylor

BBL|13 Platinum List:

Afghanistan: Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

England: Gus Atkinson, Sam Billings, Harry Brook, Joe Clarke, Zak Crawley, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Phil Salt, James Vince

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro

Pakistan: Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw

West Indies: Nicholas Pooran

About Author