Shane van Gisbergen celebrates his triumph in the final race of the Perth SuperNight. (Image: Supercars)

The Wanneroo Circuit was Shane van Gisbergen’s playground, as he enhanced his hopes of securing back-to-back championships at the Perth SuperNight.

The Wanneroo Circuit was Shane van Gisbergen’s playground, as he enhanced his hopes of securing back-to-back championships at the Perth SuperNight.

The Kiwi claimed two more victories and a valiant P4, stretching his lead on the rest of the field. While it wasn’t a day out for everyone, here is what happened at the Perth SuperNight:

van Gisbergen bests the rest with bold tyre strategy

Van Gisbergen once again did not show the qualifying pace compared to other drivers, as Anton de Pasquale claimed pole for the first race of the weekend – Race 10.

De Pasquale became the second driver this season to clinch multiple pole positions, after his teammate – Will Davidson.

De Pasquale posted the best time of the weekend in that moment, as van Gisbergen ultimately qualified in P3.

As he has shown in previous races, when not on the front row, van Gisbergen grinds his way to the front in rampant fashion – as he did in Race 10.

He made sure he kept track position, until all the leaders had pitted for fresh tyres, then continued to conserve the condition of his starting tyres.

In the 46-lap race, van Gisbergen opted to pit on lap 32, 10 laps after everyone else. He came out of the pit lane in P3 – where he was originally – however, he had more pace.

One lap after pitting, van Gisbergen passed Cam Waters for P2, giving him 13 laps to hunt down de Pasquale to the chequered flag.

Each lap he chipped away at the gap, as suspected with much more grip, until lap 43. van Gisbergen opted for a move on de Pasquale oddly enough at turn one, sending his Commodore down the inside, with a little bump and grind, making the move stick.

From there, the Kiwi charged home to take out the first win of the weekend, almost three seconds ahead of de Pasquale in P2 and Mostert in P3.

The win was also Holden’s 600th, becoming the first manufacturer to claim the feat. van Gisbergen has now claimed Holden’s 450th, 500th, 550th, and 600th race victory.

Troubled Chaz Mostert finds Wanneroo tricky

It was only three weeks ago, that Mostert lit up Albert Park alongside van Gisbergen, yet this week he found himself at the other end of the grid.

Across Races 10, 11 and 12, Mostert’s best qualifying position was P21 during Race 11 qualifying. Albeit he did improve during the races.

In Race 10, Mostert started in P23 and struggled from the rear of the grid. He only climbed one position in the first race of the weekend – finishing P22.

On Sunday, Mostert’s pace was still missing, as he qualified in P21 for Race 11 and P24 – second last – for the final race.

Race 11 was his best in terms of improvement, the 30-year-old jumped the grid, finishing in P12, following a big shunt by Scott Pye.

In Race 12, more disappointment loomed, as Mostert only managed to climb five positions from P24 to P19. It would have been a P21 finish if it wasn’t for the Kostecki cousins colliding on the penultimate lap.

Overall, his weekend was a disaster. The loss of pace was not identified clearly, as the majority of the entertainment was provided at the front of the grid.

Nonetheless, Walkinshaw Andretti United will be hoping to get that car sorted for the Winton SuperSprint.

More Supercars News:

Shane van Gisbergen claims his first Larry Perkins Trophy at Melbourne 400

Shane van Gisbergen’s Tasmanian triple treat

Mostert ends long-awaited drought in Supercars curtain raiser

Scott Pye survives monster crash

During Race 11, on just the second lap, Pye was sent into the barrier on the pit straight, causing massive damage. Pye took the inside line – which was the dirty part of the track – nonetheless, so did Jack Le Brocq.

Le Brocq tagged the back of Pye’s car, sending him out of control and into the barrier. The estimated 175km/h crash brought out the red flag.

The incident caused so much damage to the pit-lane barrier, a 50-minute pause was taken so adequate repairs could be made to the barrier. Due to the impact and damage, Pye was unable to race in the final race of the weekend.

Davidson snaps win drought

After coming ever so close this season, Will Davidson has finally secured his first win in the Supercars, since Bathurst in 2016.

During Race 11 at Wanneroo, Davidson started in pole position and produced a near-perfect race to clinch the victory.

To make the situation even better, his teammate – Anton de Pasquale – finished behind in P2, claiming first and second for Team DJR.

His victory comes after Cam Waters – who led the majority of the race – was given a five-second time penalty for running wide on the final corner and ultimately gaining an advantage by doing so.

Following a late safety car, Waters was unable to stretch his lead to five seconds or more, resulting in him finishing in P4, despite taking the chequered flag.

The controversial decision outraged Waters, as well as Tickford Racing, with an outraged CEO Tim Edwards claiming “he should not have got a 5-second penalty, it’s b******t”.

Nonetheless, the victory was Ford’s first since November 2021, as well as Davidson’s 20th career win.

van Gisbergen puts the foot down

Thanks to two wins across the weekend, Shane van Gisbergen extends his lead on Anton de Pasquale to 164 points. Will Davidson’s win elevates him to third in the championship, alongside his teammate – de Pasquale.

Supercars driver standings following Races 10, 11 and 12. (Image: Supercars)

Mostert dropped to fifth in the championship following a weekend he’d like to forget, as rival Cam Waters – overtakes him.

The team’s championship, however, is much closer. Red Bull Ampol Racing remain in the lead, however, only by a slim 13 points, to Shell V-Power Racing.

It looks to be a two-horse race in the team’s championship, although the midfield battle is getting increasingly exciting.

It’s a two-horse race at the top of the team’s championship. (Image: Supercars)

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply