Will Jamayne Isaako be wearing number 1 in season 2021? Credit: nrl.com

After their worst season in their history, the Brisbane Broncos are ready and raring to go in 2021, and they may surprise a few.

The less said about the Broncos’ 2020 season, the better.

The Anthony Siebold era itself was a disaster but after many months of speculation, Siebold departed the club in August, allowing the club to move forward.

On-field, the Broncos were lucky that the 2020 season was cut to just 20 games as it endured the worst season in its club’s history.  

The departure of promising star David Fifita to ‘little brother’ the Gold Coast Titans will sting for Broncos fans with the club also saying goodbye to Darius Boyd (retirement), Jack Bird (St George Illawarra) and former Origin prop Joe Ofahengaue (West Tigers).

The recruitment of John Asiata will soften the blow but is hardly the signing that will cool fans following the big loss of Fifita.

Likely to push for a bench spot at first, the ex-Cowboy’s ball-playing abilities will provide an extra element to their attack.

New coach and Broncos legend Kevin Walters is also now at the helm which can only be good for the Broncos.

Kevin Walters has a monster job ahead of him as he tries to guide the Broncos back up the ladder.

There is plenty of exciting prospects in Jamayne Issako, Xavier Coates, Tesi Niu, Jake Turpin and Herbie Farnworth and also expect Anthony Milford to return to his best after a poor 2020 season.

The Broncos will be without Payne Haas to start the season after he was banned three games, and fined $50,000, by the NRL for intimidating police during an off-field incident in January.

You won’t see Walters referring to the ‘F’ word in many pressers as we countdown the days to season 2021 but the Broncos could certainly surprise a few.

Who will get the number 1 guernsey?

There will be plenty of interest of who takes the full-back role in season 2021.

With the retirement of Darius Boyd, the full-back position is currently vacant with no real standout.

Jamayne Isaako is supposedly winning the race ahead of Tesi Niu but it is a flip of the coin at this stage with Isaako handed the opportunity in the past and failing to capitalise.

Xavier Coates is another option, however he has shown he can be damaging on the wing after his efforts for Queensland in last year’s State of Origin.


Jesse Arthars, John Asiata, Ethan Bullemor, Patrick Carrigan, Xavier Coates, Dale Copley, Brodie Croft, Thomas Dearden, Herbie Farnworth, Thomas Flegler, Alex Glenn, Payne Haas, Jamayne Isaako, Rhys Kennedy, Matthew Lodge, David Mead, Anthony Milford, Tesi Niu, Corey Oates, Cory Paix, Keenan Palasia, Tevita Pangai Jnr, Jordan Riki, Kotoni Staggs, Ben Te’o, Jake Turpin, Isaiah Tass

About Author

Leave a Reply