Norway celebrate their win over Denmark in the final (Photo: EHF Euro)

Norway has claimed consecutive tournament wins in the Women’s EHF EURO taking down Scandanavian rivals Denmark in the final by two goals.

A strong comeback in the second half has awarded Norway their ninth Women’s EHF EURO title win. Going into the game, having lost to Denmark in the group stage, they fought valiantly in the final ten minutes to win by two goals.

In the past three years, the Norway team have been extremely successful. After winning the 2020 EHF EURO, they followed it by winning the 2021 IHF Women’s World Championship, and now the 2022 EHF EURO.

With the victory, they add to their other trophies achieved in 1998, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2014, 2016 and 2020.

Having beaten Norway, 31-29 in the group stage, Denmark was confident heading into the game. They were looking to exact revenge from their 2004 EHF EURO finals loss.

After getting off to a quick start Denmark went into half-time with a three-point lead. In the next half, they lacked poise and allowed Norway to come back into the game. Behind for the majority of the game, Norway tied the game with eight minutes to go.

The pressure was too much for the Danes to handle as they turned the ball over, missed shots and conceded fouls.

Henry Reistad and Stine Oftedal took on the Danish defenders in the final minutes, scoring two goals a piece. As the final seconds in the game ticked over, Norway celebrated their consecutive Women’s EHF EURO title win.

Not only was Norweigan left back Nora Mørk awarded the Player of the Match, but she rounded up her goal tally to 50 goals, making her the top-goalscorer. This is third consecutive time she has ended the tournament with the most goals.

Coming onto the court with 20 minutes to go, Katrine Lunde made influential saves to deny the Danes the lead. This included keeping Denmark scoreless for eight minutes as she ended the game with four saves from 10 shots.

Montenegro celebrating their third-place win against France. (Photo: EHF/kolektiffimages)

In the bronze medal match, Montenegro defeated France in an extra-time thriller 27-25. With the win, they reached the podium after ten long years as the long wait was finally over.

It was a storied win for Montenegro who farwelled legend Jovanka Radičević. In her final appearance for the national side, the legendary right wing ended it on a high.

For France, the loss caused nothing but disappointment and heartbreak. It is the first time since the 2014 EHF EURO they leave without a medal.

More News:

FIFA World Cup 2022: Refreshed midfield exposed as vulnerabilities of old remain for Germany

Harry Sheezel ready to embrace community leadership as Draft dream looms

Hard-hitting Laura Harris haunts the Hurricanes yet again with match-defining knock

Norweigan duo Henry Reistad and Katherin Heindahl claimed the honour of the most valuable player and best defender during the campaign. Even though they walked away as winners, Norway only had one squad member announced in the team of the tournament.

Runners-up Denmark, third place Montenegro, fourth place France, Hungary and Romania all had players announced in the all-star team.

All-Star Team of the Tournament:

Goalkeeper: Cleopatre Darleux (France)

Left Wing: Emma Friis (Denmark)

Left Back: Cristina Neagu (Romania)

Centre Back: Stine Oftedal (Norway)

Right Back: Katrin Klujber (Hungary)

Right Wing: Jovanka Radicevic (Montenagro)

Line Player: Pauletta Foppa (France)

Most Valuable Player: Henry Reistad (Norway)

Best Defender: Katherin Heindahl (Norway)

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply