The Perth Scorchers became WBBL Champions for the first time. (Photo: WBBL/Twitter)

The Women's Big Bash League enters it's eighth instalment this summer with more prime time games and a return to a national, festival-based competition fixturing a feature.

The Women’s Big Bash League enters it’s eighth instalment this summer with more prime time games and a return to a national, festival-based competition fixturing a feature. Victoria and New South Wales are the two states eager to welcome back the WBBL.

For the first time since 2019, games will be played in Victoria in front of Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades fans. These games will be hosted at Junction Oval, Eastern Oval in Ballarat and Ted Summerton Reserve in Moe.

This is a farcry from WBBL|06, which was hosted in a hub in Sydney and WBBL|07, where no games were played in NSW or Victoria due to border closures.

Australian Women’s National Cricket Captain and Melbourne Stars Captain Meg Lanning spoke on Thursday about the opportunity to play in front of Victorian crowds again.

“WBBL is a really fun part of the year,” Lanning said.

“T20 cricket is really exciting to play and watch for the fans as well.

“I’m super pumped to be able to play some games here in Melbourne and Victoria, which we haven’t been able to do for a couple of years so it will come around really quick but certainly looking forward to it.”

“We spend a lot of time [at the Junction Oval] training so it’s nice to get back to some WBBL and state cricket as well and to be able to play in those competitions,” she explained.

Meg Lanning
Melbourne Stars Captain Meg Lanning (Image: Women’s Big Bash League/Twitter)

More Cricket News

Aussies Abroad: Who will feature in the T20 Blast finals?

Maddy Green ready to scorch up the furnace in Perth

Australia v Sri Lanka: Are the tourists playing a second spinner just for the sake of it?

WBBL|08 commences on October 13, when the Brisbane Heat host the Sydney Sixers in a Thursday night blockbuster. This will be a feature of the season with more prime timeslots than any other season prior (17 games) and 15 games in twilight slots.

The 59 matches will be played in all six states for the first time in three years as well as the ACT with 14 different venues hosting games. Some highlights in the fixture are the return of the Brisbane Heat to Allan Border Field for the first time since 2019 and the return of the Adelaide Strikers to Nuriootpa.

Sydney-based WBBL fans will be able to watch live matches again this season after a one-year hiatus. Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixers will play matches at North Sydney Oval and Blacktown International Sportspark.

WBBL|09 Fixture

Thursday, October 13: Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Sixers (Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay)

Friday, October 14: Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes (Blacktown ISP Oval, Sydney)

Saturday, October 15: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Sixers (Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay), Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Stars (Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay)

Sunday, October 16: Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide Strikers (Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay) Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars (Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay) Sydney Thunder vs Perth Scorchers (Blacktown ISP Oval, Sydney)

Monday, October 17: Hobart Hurricanes vs Perth Scorchers (Blacktown ISP Oval, Sydney)

Tuesday, October 18: Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Renegades (Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay),  Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder (Blacktown ISP Oval, Sydney)

Thursday, October 20: Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Stars (WACA Ground, Perth)

Friday, October 21: Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide), Sydney Sixers vs Adelaide Strikers (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide)

Saturday, October 22: Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder (WACA Ground, Perth)

Sunday, October 23: Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars (WACA Ground, Perth), Perth Scorchers vs Hobart Hurricanes (WACA Ground, Perth)

Monday, October 24: Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne Renegades (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide)

Tuesday, October 25: Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder (Allan Border Field, Brisbane)

Thursday, October 27: Brisbane Heat vs Adelaide Strikers (Allan Border Field, Brisbane)

Friday, October 28: Adelaide Strikers vs Perth Scorchers (Allan Border Field, Brisbane)

Saturday, October 29: Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers (Eastern Oval, Ballarat), Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne Stars (Eastern Oval, Ballarat), Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers (Allan Border Field, Brisbane)

Sunday, October 30: Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers (Eastern Oval, Ballarat)

Monday, October 31: Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder (Eastern Oval, Ballarat)

Wednesday, November 2: Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne Stars (Blacktown ISP Oval, Sydney), Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers (Blacktown ISP Oval, Sydney)

Thursday, November 3: Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades (Blundstone Arena, Hobart)

Friday, November 4: Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat (Blundstone Arena, Hobart)

Saturday, November 5: Melbourne Stars vs Adelaide Strikers, (Lilac Hill Park, Perth), Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers (Lilac Hill Park, Perth)

Sunday, November 6: Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat (Blundstone Arena, Hobart), Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder (Blundstone Arena, Perth), Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers (Lilac Hill Park, Perth)

Monday, November 7: Melbourne Renegades vs Hobart Hurricanes (Blundstone Arena, Hobart)

Wednesday, November 9: Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat (Lilac Hill Park, Perth)

Thursday, November 10: Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Renegades (CitiPower Centre, Melbourne)

Friday, November 11: Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide)

Saturday, November 12: Melbourne Renegades vs Perth Scorchers (CitiPower Centre, Melbourne), Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers (CitiPower Centre, Melbourne), Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide)

Sunday, November 13: Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers (CitiPower Centre, Melbourne), Melbourne Stars vs Melbourne Renegades (CitiPower Centre, Melbourne), Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder (Centennial Park Oval, Nuriootpa)

Monday, November 14: Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane Heat (Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide)

Tuesday, November 15: Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Stars (Latrobe Recreation Ground, Latrobe), Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Renegades (Manuka Oval, Canberra)

Wednesday, November 16: Melbourne Stars vs Hobart Hurricanes (Latrobe Recreation Ground, Latrobe), Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat (North Sydney Oval)

Friday, November 18: Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes (North Sydney Oval, Sydney), Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder (North Sydney Oval, Sydney)

Saturday, November 19: Melbourne Stars vs Perth Scorchers (Ted Summerton Reserve, Moe)

Sunday, November 20: Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Renegades (Ted Summerton Reserve, Moe), Sydney Sixers vs Hobart Hurricanes (North Sydney Oval, Sydney), Melbourne Stars vs Brisbane Heat (Ted Summerton Reserve, Moe), Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers (North Sydney Oval)

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply