Jamie Maclaren in action for Melbourne City. Photo supplied by Melbourne City.

Melbourne City announced on Tuesday that striker Jamie Maclaren will depart the club following the conclusion of the 2023/24 A-League Men season.

“It’s a bittersweet moment for me to leave the Club that I’ve called home for the past five and a half years,” Maclaren said. 

“I’m incredibly proud of what I’ve been able to achieve here, both personally and as a team. I came here to help bring success to this Club and I leave knowing that I played my role in that, where together we’ve made so many fond memories and shared so much success.  

“To my teammates, the staff and our amazing supporters, I want to say thank you for making my time here so special.” 

The club has announced it will create a special membership category to honour Maclaren, the first time the club has done so.

The club has also announced it will give Maclaren and his family lifetime memberships to the club.

More Football News

Football Australia and A-Leagues introduce Live VAR for A-League Men Finals

Sydney FC defeat Mariners to make seventh consecutive ALW grand final

Former Arsenal coach to lead the A-League All Stars Women squad

Melbourne City Director of Football Michael Petrillo said that Maclaren embodies everything the club stands for.

“He’s been an outstanding footballer for us and an exceptional role model for his teammates and young fans,” Petrillo said.  

“On the pitch, his name will remain in the record books forever. Not only is he the league’s greatest ever goal scorer, but he also made an enormous contribution to our men’s team during their most successful period. 

“Jamie leaves City a legend, and with his family, will always be welcome back at our club.”

Maclaren currently sits second on the clubs all-time appearance list and leads the A-League Men all-time goalscorer list with 154 goals, a tally he can add to this weekend in the elimination final against Melbourne Victory.

He departs City having won the league’s golden boot four times, three premierships, one championship, club player of the year in 2019/20, and four PFA team of the season honours.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author