Andrew Hoy Equestrian Australia Tokyo 2020

Andrew Hoy has won silver in Team Eventing at Tokyo 2020. (Photo: AUS Olympic Team - Twitter)

Eight-time Olympian Andrew Hoy, at 62, becomes Australia's oldest Olympic medallist after he won his fourth Equestrian team medal at Tokyo 2020.

Eight-time Olympian Andrew Hoy has won two medals tonight, in the individual and team Equestrian events. Keep up to date with all the happenings at Tokyo 2020 through The Inner Sanctum’s Olympic hub and Olympic Central.

Andrew Hoy, who made his debut at Los Angeles 1984 and missed Rio 2016, has won two medals in a memorable night for the 62-year-old appearing at his eighth Olympic Games.

In the Equestrian Eventing Jumping Team Final, Hoy was part of an Australian team that earned a silver medal and in doing so, his run qualified him for the individual event, where he backed it up and won bronze – his first individual medal since winning silver at Sydney 2000.

For Hoy, the Eventing Team silver was his first medal since Sydney 2000 and contributes to three previous medals in Equestrian Team events – Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996 and Sydney 2000.

With the silver in the team event, Hoy has become Australia’s oldest Olympic medallist, taking the title from fellow equestrian rider Bill Roycroft who won Eventing Team bronze at Montreal 1976. He’s also the oldest Olympic medallist since Swiss sailor Louis Noverraz won silver at Mexico City 1968, aged 66.

During the Equestrian Eventing Jumping Team Final, Australia, represented by Kevin McNabb, Shane Rose and Hoy, finished second among 14 nations to claim silver.

This medal signifies the ninth time Australia has found the podium in the event that comprises of four gold, two silver and three bronze.

As well, this is Rose’s third medal in team event too, after silver at Beijing 2008 and bronze at Rio 2016.

Previous to tonight’s Jumping Final, each team had already performed in Dressage and Cross Country.

Australia held a total penalty score of 93.40 among the team’s three riders in Dressage. In Cross Country, across the three riders, Australia as a team only conceded 2.80 penalties for a total penalty score of 96.20 heading into tonight’s Jumping run.

Tonight, riding Don Quidam, McNabb had a flawless ride in the Jumping to earn zero penalties to have Australia’s score holding at 96.20.

Rose was the second Australian to participate in the Jumping event, riding Virgil, took a slight 4.00 penalty, adding that to the team total, now at 100.20.

Hoy was the final Australian to ride, on Vassily de Lassos, and also rode without any penalties. After he finished, it was confirmed the team would win a medal, it just remained which one.

Great Britain, through riders Tom McEwen, Laura Collett and Oliver Townend, earned Eventing Team gold, with a total of 86.30 penalties.

Finishing the equestrian team event, defending champions France, represented by Nicolas Touzaint, Karim Florent Laghough and Christopher Six, combined for a total penalty score of 101.50, winning bronze.


Tokyo 2020 News

Artists win in push to have Aussie music in the Olympics broadcast

Tokyo 2020: Women’s Hockey Recap – Australia v India

Tokyo 2020: Australian Recap – Sunday August 1

New South Welshman Hoy was also one of 25 riders who qualified for the Individual Final, that fellow Australians McNabb and Rose also qualified for.

In the qualifier, Hoy finished with the fourth-best time with a total penalty score of 29.60 – all coming from the first Dressage event, meaning there were no penalties picked up in the Cross Country and Jump, ahead of the Final Jump.

Hoy’s Final Jump produced a 0.00 penalty score, meaning his total penalty score remained unchanged but moved into a medal position when Oliver Townend of Great Britain had a penalty score of 4.80 in the Final Jump.

Hoy fell just .30 penalty points away from silver medallist Tom McEwen of Great Britain who had 0.40 penalty points on the Final Jump. Germany’s Julia Krajewski won gold with a penalty total of 26.00.

Rose and McNabb finished 10th and 14th with 39.70 and 46.90 penalty points respectively.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply