The NST has been one of Football Australia CEO, James Johnson's highest priorities. PHOTO: Football Australia

Football Australia (FA) have confirmed the first eight members of the National Second Tier in Sydney today, with room for more by the time the competition kicks off.

Whilst only consisting of teams from Victoria and New South Wales for now, the league will expand further before its eventual debut in early 2025.

Successful NST Applicants

  • APIA Leichardt FC (NSW)
  • Avondale FC (VIC)
  • Marconi Stallions FC (NSW)
  • Preston Lions FC (VIC)
  • South Melbourne FC (VIC)
  • Sydney Olympic (NSW)
  • Sydney United 58 FC (NSW)
  • Wollongong Wolves FC (NSW)

CEO of Football Australia, James Johnson says that today is a transformative step for Australian football.

“It symbolises our commitment to reconnecting the football pyramid and enhancing the competitiveness of our national game,” he said.

“This is more than just a competition; it’s a cornerstone in our mission to fortify the foundations of our sport.

“The National Second Tier will be instrumental in nuturing talent, engaging communities, and elevating the overal quality of football across the country.”

More Football News

When the National Second Tier does kick-off in 2025, it will be in a home and away league format between either 10 or 12 teams, culminating in a finals series to determine the champions.

The next steps for Football Australia will be finalising the application process for the additional two or four teams that will join the list of inaugural members.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author