W-Series is about to embark on its historic second-ever season with more drivers, more action and a schedule that will make the all-female line up more visible than ever.

The W-Series made its debut in 2019, with drivers contesting six events before Britain’s Jamie Chadwick was crowned the inaugural champion. Australian driver Caitlin Wood featured in this series.


2021 promises to be another big year for motorsport’s all female W-Series contingent after it was announced they would feature on eight F1 race weekends.

Despite the event being cancelled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 outbreak, F1 have committed to supporting the Series and its teams moving forward.

W-Series gets underway in France on June 26 before culminating in Mexico City on October 30.

26 JuneLe Castellet, France
3 JulySpielberg, Austria
17 JulySilverstone, UK
31 JulyBudapest, Hungary
28 AugustSpa-Francorchamps, Belgium
4 SeptemberZandvoort, Netherlands
23 OctoberAustin, USA
30 OctoberMexico City, Mexico
The W-Series schedule

W-Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir said she could not wait to tour Europe and the Americas with some of the best women’s drivers in the world.

““I am delighted that the 18 drivers who would have competed in our 2020 on-track season will all get the chance to showcase their talents on-track in 2021, in partnership with Formula 1,” she said.

“I am also pleased that they will be eligible for FIA Super Licence points as they do so.*

“This year has been incredibly testing for everybody, but our fast and fearless drivers have displayed remarkable resilience and dedication, and they can now look forward to competing on motor racing’s biggest stage thanks to W Series’ new partnership with Formula 1.

“Our eight races next year will take us right across Europe and the Americas, and our 18 drivers represent 12 countries, therefore helping us to enhance the reach and impact of W Series globally, and to achieve our mission of inspiring young girls and women everywhere.”

F1 managing director of motorsport Ross Brawn said the W-Series would add plenty of on-track excitement.

“We are delighted to announce the eight Formula 1 races that W Series will join in 2021. There is a really exciting mix of circuits that will showcase the exceptional talent of the drivers in the series,” he said.

“We believe that it is incredibly important to give everyone the chance to reach the highest levels of our sport, and partnering with W-Series shows our determination and commitment to building greater diversity across Formula 1.”

*[Editor’s note: F1 drivers are required to hold a FIA Super Licence. This will essentially open a new pathway to F1].

Who are the 18-drivers?

  • Jamie Chadwick, UK, 22
  • Beitske Visser, Netherlands, 25
  • Alice Powell, UK, 27
  • Marta García, Spain, 20
  • Emma Kimiläinen, Finland, 31
  • Fabienne Wohlwend, Liechtenstein, 23
  • Miki Koyama, Japan, 23
  • Sarah Moore, UK, 27
  • Vicky Piria, Italy, 27
  • Tasmin Pepper, South Africa, 30
  • Jessica Hawkins, UK, 25
  • Sabré Cook, USA, 26
  • Ayla Ågren, Norway, 27
  • Abbie Eaton, UK, 28
    • Belén García, Spain, 21
  • Nerea Martí, Spain, 18
  • Irina Sidorkova, Russia, 17
  • Bruna Tomaselli, Brazil, 23

W Series reserves the right to announce further drivers in due course.

About Author

Leave a Reply