Picture: England Netball

England Netball has named a 14-player squad in a test series with South Africa’s SPAR Proteas.

Five players were a part of the Roses silver medal in their Netball World Cup campaign in July/August this year. Eight travelled over to New Zealand to compete in the Taini Jamison trophy.

This will be head coach Jess Thirlby’s first test series back after the World Cup, now returning from a leave of absence.

“We’ve been looking forward to this home series since the summer and whilst we’ve already been incredibly busy since the success of the World Cup campaign competing in an away series in New Zealand and the recent Fast5, there is nothing like playing at home,” she said.

Thirlby is confident she’s found the balance of experience and youth in the squad. Bringing in some seeasoned campaigners while still giving the rookies exposure to the international stage.

“The selected squad certainly looks and feels different, bringing a new energy and dynamic as we look to strengthen existing talent whilst uncovering new potential,” she said.

“Not only do we have the continuity of some of our World Cup silver medallists in Fran, Eleanor, Imogen, Funmi and Olivia joined by World Cup reserves Halimat and Amy, but we also see the inclusion of senior and experienced players in Sasha, Razia and Hannah as well as bright, young talent who are beginning to assert themselves amongst the squad in Alicia, Ellie, Berri and Jayda.

“For selection to be so tough so soon after a World Cup campaign signals the improving depth which is much needed for future success on the world stage.”

More Netball News:

Garrett named Aussie FAST5 skipper

Melbourne Mavericks named as Super Netball’s newest team

Von Bertouch confident on Thunderbirds’ ‘connection’ ahead of grand final berth

Helen Housby and Nat Metcalf were unavailable taking an extended break from the World Cup. George Fisher and Laura Malcolm were also not available for selection due to injury.

Squad: Halimat Adio, Imogen Allison, Eleanor Cardwell, Amy Carter, Funmi Fadoju, Sasha Glasgow, Hannah Joseph, Berri Neil, Jayda Pechova, Razia Quashie, Ellie Rattu, Alicia Scholes, Olivia Tchine, Fran Williams.

The games will take place in Manchester and Nottingham on 5, 9 and 10 December.

About Author