Adelaide Strikers win first ever WBBL title. (Photo: Adelaide Strikers/Twitter)

The Adelaide Strikers have won their first WBBL title in a thrilling game against the Sydney Sixers at North Sydney Oval.

A very strong bowling performance by the Adelaide Strikers would upset the favourites on their home turf, with all-rounder Deandra Dottin starring with the bat and ball. Continuing her form from The Challenger against the Brisbane Heat, Dottin scored 52 off 37 balls while also contributing with the key wickets of Suzie Bates (10 runs) and Ashleigh Gardner (0), which would hurt the Sixers’ batting stocks. 

More Cricket News

The Strikers young pace bowler Darcie Brown (2-15) also provided a major contribution to the Strikers bowling clinic at North Sydney Oval. Bowling in a partnership with Dottin after the powerplay, Brown was a major factor in the usually big-hitting team to be down four wickets.

Darcie Brown collected the wicket of Healy cheaply and managed to bring down Ellyse Perry (33 runs) after she created a partnership with Nicole Bolton which lasted over 50 runs. Bolton got out after being bowled by the Strikers’ skipper Tahlia McGrath which spelt the end of her career, walking off to a standing ovation.

Despite the at times poor fielding efforts by the visitors and the best efforts of Maitlan Brown’s last ditch effort (34 off 17 deliveries) to get close to the total, the Sixers fell short. On the final ball, they were bowled out, scoring 138 runs in the innings.

This completed the redemption arc the Strikers have been chasing after losing to the Perth Scorchers in last year’s final while also giving outgoing long-serving wicketkeeper Tegan McPharlin the perfect send off as she retires from the game.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply