Emily Petricola representing Australia

Emily Petricola representing Australia. Credit: AusCyclingTeam/Twitter

Australia has named a 12 person team for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics to compete in the para-cycling, hoping to bring home medals.

The Australian Paralympic Committee has named a 12 person team for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics to compete in the para-cycling events.

Carole Cooke (three-time Paralympic gold medalist) and David Nicholas (two-time Paralympic gold medalist) lead a team that is considered one of the strongest teams that Australia has sent to a Paralympics.

AusCycling Technical Director Warren McDonald was quoted in the team announcement on paralympic.org.au lauding the makeup of the team.

“Being Australia-based we haven’t been able to travel or race internationally in the past year or so, but previous to COVID we had some great results on the track and road,” McDonald said.

“It was a very tight selection, which makes it a really great honour for those who made the Team, but also respect to some very good riders who just missed out,” he continued.

Seven members of the team are set to make their debut at Paralympic level, with Amanda Reid, Alistair Donohoe and Stuart Tripp also returning to the Paralympics.

Paige Greco is a young up-and-comer and will be one of the future stars of para-cycling. She has five world championships across the track and road world championships from 2019 and is looking to add Paralympic medals to her collection.


Emily Petrocola, who rides with multiple sclerosis, found a way to get involved in sport despite her diagnosis.

In 2015, she was linked up with Matt Ryan and Shane Kelly, both multi-time Olympians who emboldened her to take on a para-cycling dream. Three years later, her debut at the Track World Championships.

Since then Petrocola has won four track world championships and one on the road in the individual time trial in 2019.

More Tokyo 2020 News

Australia announces 11-member para-table tennis team with 50 days to go

Australian Team’s CMO Dr David Hughes has athlete health front of mind

‘What does it mean to everyone else?’ Flying the flag for Australians at Tokyo 2020

Meg Lemon acquired a brain injury while cycling in an accident, and as part of her rehab, got back on the bike. In 2015, she took her cycling to a new level with the national para-cycling and has won 12 national championships since.

Lemon credits para-cycling helping with neuroplasticity and allowing her to build a new life, while she trains and coaches cycling, and she has finished on the podium every time she has represented Australia at the UCI Road and Track events since 2016.

Full Australian Para-cycling Team

Gordon AllanH14Debut
Grant AllenC2Debut
Carol CookeT2London 2012 (Gold medal)
Rio 2016 (2 Gold medals)
Alistair DonohoeC5Rio 2016 (2 Silver medals)
Paige GrecoC3Debut
Stuart JonesT2Debut
Darren HicksC2Debut
Meg LemonC4Debut
Emily PetricolaC4Debut
David NicholasC3London 2012 (Gold medal, Bronze medal)
Rio 2016 (Gold medal)
Amanda ReidC2Rio 2016 (Silver medal)
Stuart TrippH5London 2012
Rio 2016 (Silver medal)

Para-cycling commences with Track Cycling on 25 August and ends on 28 August, and Road Cycling commences on 31 August and ends on 3 September.

About Author

Leave a Reply