Adelaide Oval Strikers v Stars

Adelaide Oval is set to host the first two WBBL|07 finals, before the champions are crowned at Optus Stadium, Perth. Image: Dani Brown

With the regular season complete, WBBL|07 heats up with finals matches to be played at two world class venues in Adelaide and Perth.

Adelaide Oval will host the first two exciting finals matches before the WBBL|07 champions are crowned in Perth, with The Final to be played at Optus Stadium.

After finishing top of the WBBL|07 standings, the Perth Scorchers earned the right to progress directly to The Final and host this at the venue of their choice.

The Final has never been hosted by the same venue, with Optus Stadium set to become the seventh venue to host a WBBL Final. It is the second time the fixture has been held in Perth.

Cricket Australia General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, Alistair Dobson, said it is an exciting opportunity for the Scorchers to host The Final on Saturday, November 27 at 4:10pm AWST.

“We are delighted to be taking The Final to Perth and for the match to be played in a world class venue such as Optus Stadium.

“The Weber WBBL|07 Final has the potential to be a watershed moment in the competition’s history. We know how much Perth fans love the Scorchers and the WBBL, and we look forward to seeing them out in force on Saturday.

“The League also congratulates the Perth Scorchers, led by their captain Sophie Devine and coach Shelley Nitschke, on securing their position in The Final courtesy of some outstanding cricket through the regular season.”

Before the tournament champions are crowned in Perth, the Scorchers opposition for The Final will be decided by The Eliminator and The Challenger matches to be held at Adelaide Oval.

Finishing in second place, the Melbourne Renegades chose Adelaide Oval as their preferred home venue for The Challenger.

The match is unable to be held in Melbourne due to state border restrictions and how they apply to travel to Perth for The Final.

With the finals structure having a one-day turnaround between the first two matches, The Eliminator will also be held at Adelaide Oval.

More Cricket News

King the Queen of Adelaide Oval as Scorchers secure final

Melbourne Renegades burnt by Brisbane Heat going into finals

Late batting collapse ends Thunder season on gloomy note

Dobson congratulated the Perth Scorchers, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers on finishing in the top four and qualifying for finals.

“The Finals series features the best of the best and we know our players will put on a great show for our fans at the Adelaide Oval and Optus Stadium, plus all those watching in prime time.

“We want to thank the Melbourne Renegades and their fans for their understanding around being unable to play Finals matches in Victoria due to state border restrictions.

“They, along with the Melbourne Stars, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder have spent the entire season on the road following a quarantine period to begin the campaign.

“We thank them, along with all players, staff and match officials across the competition, for their commitment to the Weber WBBL.”

All three WBBL|07 finals matches in Adelaide and Perth will be broadcast live and free around the country on Seven and ABC Radio, as well as on Fox Cricket and Kayo.

For Adelaide-based fans, and those able to travel to South Australia for the two matches, tickets will be available through Ticketek from 9:00am ACDT on Monday.

Tickets for The Final will also go on sale on Monday morning at 9:00am AWST, through Ticketmaster.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

About Author

Leave a Reply